Press release

Date 26.05.2016, 9.30 p.m.

Theater HORA receives the Swiss Grand Award for Theatre / Hans Reinhart Ring 2016

Theater HORA in Zurich receives the Swiss Grand Award for Theatre / Hans Reinhart Ring 2016. The award from the Federal Office of Culture recognises an institution that for 25 years has enabled people with learning difficulties to engage in professional theatre. It was presented at the Théâtre de Carouge in Geneva in the presence of Federal Councillor Alain Berset. The Swiss Theatre Awards presentation ceremony took place at the opening of the 3rd Swiss Theatre Encounter, which was held for the first time in French-speaking Switzerland. Further accolades went to Jean-Quentin Châtelain, Barbara Frey, Germain Meyer, 400asa and Junges Theater Graubünden.

On the recommendation of the Federal Theatre Jury, this year's principal honour in the Swiss Theatre Awards goes to Theater HORA, in recognition of its extensive work with people with disabilities. HORA is known for its uncompromising artistic approach and has established a strong international reputation. The group was founded by theatre educator Michael Elber in 1989 and became part of the Stiftung Züriwerk in 2003. Since 2009 Theater HORA has also offered an accredited drama training for people with learning difficulties. Its production "Disabled Theater" by the French choreographer Jérôme Bel was performed at the Berlin Theatertreffen in 2013 and earned a Swiss Dance Award. Theater HORA has since toured worldwide.

The Swiss Grand Award for Theatre / Hans Reinhart Ring continues the tradition of Switzerland's most important theatre award, which was presented from 1957 to 2013 by the Swiss Society for the Dramatic Arts (Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Theaterkultur, SGTK). It carries prize money of CHF 100,000. The 2014 winner was the director Omar Porras from Geneva, while the 2015 award went to Stefan Kaegi, the Swiss member of the German-Swiss theatre collective Rimini Protokoll in Berlin. As a symbol of the tradition, the winners receive the Hans Reinhart Ring. A publication in four languages on Theater HORA will also be published in autumn by the SGTK as part of the *MIMOS. Swiss Theatre Yearbook* series.

Other Swiss Theatre Awards

The other five theatre awards went to: **Jean-Quentin Châtelain**, an acting phenomenon from Geneva, **Barbara Frey**, the renowned director and, since 2009, first female head of the Schauspielhaus Zurich, and **Germain Meyer** for his work as a theatre mediator in Jura. Each receives prize money of CHF 30,000. CHF 50,000 prizes for institutions went to the independent theatre group **400asa** for its contemporary narratives that go beyond theatre, and **Junges Theater Graubünden** for its outreach work with young audiences in Graubünden.

The nominations and awards were announced on 29 March: www.news.admin.ch

Detailed information and visual materials

A press pack on all the award winners is attached to this press release.

High-resolution images of the presentation ceremony will be available from 9.30 p.m. at the following link: <u>http://adrianmoser.photoshelter.com/gallery/Schweizer-Theaterpreis-</u> 2016/G00000N4.qZZTV4w/C00005YuCBoR_JCQ (password: theaterpreise2016)

High-resolution images of all the award winners as well as information about the Swiss Theatre Awards can be found on the website <u>http://www.theaterpreise.ch/en/media/</u>

Contacts for information

On the Confederation's awards policy: Danielle Nanchen, Head of Cultural Creativity Section, Federal Office of Culture, tel. 058 464 98 23, <u>danielle.nanchen@bak.admin.ch</u>

On the Swiss Theatre Awards: Claudia Rosiny, Head of Dance and Theatre, Cultural Creativity Section, Federal Office of Culture, tel. 058 465 39 19, claudia.rosiny@bak.admin.ch

Media services: Paola Gilardi, media@theaterpreise.ch, tel. 079 746 41 10